“The Monster Mash.”

   With Halloween coming up, it’s time to consider what makes it rock and roll’s favorite holiday. Now, I haven’t stopped and checked, because A) I’m certain of it, and B) I’m a busy guy, but more songs have been written for the holiday of Halloween than there are for Christmas. Remember, as Bart Simpson once said, “All the best bands are associated with Satan.”

It’s become my personal goal to wake up, every single day until November 3rd and play “The Monster Mash,” to start my day off to correctly honor of All Hallow’s Eve. I choose November 3rd as the end date so I can cheer up about the doldrums that is America’s Election Day. As it is, I already play this song first on every holiday, as it is perfectly symbolic of every celebration’s intentions: Getting together to recognize something that is long gone and decaying.

Here are the two essential versions:

Bobby ‘Boris’ Pickett and the Crypt Kickers.

The Misfits.

Happy Halloween, everybody!

Leave a Reply

